The hotel and is well known with guests returning year after year and this hidden gem of is perfectly placed for walkers & hikers with the stunning countryside being a mecca for cyclists too.
Situated in the middle of Hawes, with a sun terrace to relax and enjoy the world going by.
Cockett’s formerly an Inn run by Widow Harrison, the building was bought by the Quakers in 1754 as a rest house for friends before or after meetings at the nearby meeting house, at a time when friends travelled many miles to attend the meetings and needed somewhere to rest and eat.
A condition of the occupancy at that time was that penniless travellers had to be taken in.
There is an inscription over the door, God being with us, who can be against T.A.F AD1668 The initials being of a certain Thomas Arthur Fawcett a Quaker.